Lovely Liebsters!

Ooh an award! I love awards!!

Leicester award text and heart

I won an award!

Thank you to Miss Understood for nominating me for a Liebster Award. These awards are designed to encourage people to visit new or little-visited blogs and I think that’s a great idea. Karyn has been liking and replying on my blog for a little while, so more thanks are due for that. We #Blogging101 students need all the support we can get!

Liebsters are designed to spotlight blogs with low traffic, in the hope of generating some more.

The rules are the following:

1. Thank and link back to your nominator.

2. Answer the nominator’s 11 questions.

3. Nominate 11 other bloggers with 200 or fewer followers and link to them.

4. Draft 11 new questions for your nominees.

5. Notify your nominees via their blogs or social media.

And here are THE QUESTIONS posed by Miss Understood, with my responses:

Would you prefer to win the lottery or get paid to do what you are passionate about?

I already do what I’m passionate about – writing – but it can’t hurt to get paid more. Is that a fudge?

Name a book, fiction or non, that had a sustaining impact upon you?

I’ll interpret this literally. One of the first cookery books I had was Mary Berry’s book, the Hamlyn Cookery Book. I learnt to cook from the recipes and they sustained me and later my husband and family.

If you could eradicate the need for one charity, which charity would it be?

Charities supporting research into Crohn’s disease and Colitis – which have affected several generations of my family. Bowel disease is not sexy, research is under-funded and councils will keep shutting toilets!

Name two things on your bucket list.

Recently I was lucky to win a prize, which included 12 ‘experiences’. That ticked quite a few of my bucket list items off! I don’t have a list as such but maybe publishing a book and flying a helicopter.

Tell us what you consider your greatest challenge.

Art.

What would your best friend say is your best character trait?

I’m usually quite patient and don’t mind best friends taking the glory!

Name something that is not taught in school (grades 1-12) that you think should be mandatory?

I used to teach and we could usually find room in the curriculum for most things. It’s a question of interpreting the curriculum creatively. If pushed: cookery because it’s a survival skill and leads to healthy lifestyle.

Give an example of a perfect day.

I’d be on holiday with my family and dog, on the Isle of Arran. Bacon and white pudding for breakfast with morning rolls and Lurpak – for stamina, you understand. We’d explore the beaches and do some pony trekking over the hills, with some Arran cheese and oatcakes for picnic lunch. In the afternoon we’d visit the Arran Heritage Centre, where I’d do some genealogy and research some ancestors. We’d stop at Woolley’s bakery for strawberry tartlets (vitamin C!). Supper would be a barbeque on the beach, with Arran whiskey for tipplers, friends & relatives. If the weather could be warm & sunny, that would be a bonus and midges are banned!

Name one place that you would love to visit that you have not.

Italy – somehow I have never been there!

With limitless time, name something that you’d love to learn to do.

Learn lots more languages. I speak French and a little of some others but would love a facility to speak Icelandic or Finnish or Arabic, depending on where I was at the time.

Do you feel you have a message that would change someone’s life?

Not a general message for anyone but a tailored message that suits the needs of someone who had asked me – maybe.

Nominees

1 https://griffla.wordpress.com

2 http://johannamassey.com

3 https://victoriandictionary.wordpress.com

4 https://whatsonlaurismind.wordpress.com

5 https://r0adt0n0where.wordpress.com

6 https://lifeandbeans.wordpress.com

7 http://chouett.com

8 https://simplysophisticatedcooking.wordpress.com

9 http://susanrushton.net

10 https://distinctrhythm.wordpress.com

11 https://swiatlojestwnas.wordpress.com

Tell us a little about yourselves:

1 What do you think we can learn from animals?

2 If you were invisible for a day, what would you do?

3 How long could you live without your mobile phone?

4 In what ways does travel broaden the mind?

5 Tell us about an occasion when you’ve been heroic.

6 Nature or nurture – did your family make you what you are today?

7 Which person you have met do you most admire?

8 Share a recipe that you’d cook for a loved one.

9 What music is on your radio/ iPod or gadget of choice?

10 Which talent or skill would you most like to possess?

11 Tell us about a time you were lost.

Liebster award badge logo

Liebster Award badge

7 thoughts on “Lovely Liebsters!

  1. Congratulations on the award! And your perfect day sounds just like my kind of day… maybe with a bit of writing and music thrown in for good measure. Enjoy your day. x

  2. So I am working on my response to my Premio Dardos Award when I receive I have been nominated for the Liebsters Award and what I ended up doing was in the spirit of the Liebsters I found fourteen of fifteen sites that I have never been to before and who fit the criteria of having what both the Premio Dardos and the Liebsters required. So thank you so much, but the best I can do is my hybrid today.

    • Sorry to hit you with that JoHanna! Didn’t spot the first nomination til everything else was prepared, so quite understand your response. In fact, well done & congratulations on the Premio Dardos!

  3. I really appreciate the nomination and I enjoy following your blog and our bit of repartee here and there. I loved reading your answers too – I hope the 12 experiences were all ‘good’ ones, not dares or challenges like bungee jumping! I’m very happy to link back here from my About page, which I’ve done, but have decided after thinking about it for quite a long time that I’d prefer not to take part in awards. It’s not just because I can’t think of a time I’ve been heroic, or because my beloved tells me I can only cook two things, I promise!

Leave a Reply

